Thursday, October 8, 2015

Book Review: First Blush by Monica B. Wagner

Members of the Vise Library were selected to review First Blush.  We received a copy of Mónica B. Wagner's book for an honest review.

About the book:

For fans of Abbi Glines and Colleen Hoover comes Mónica B. Wagner's sexy New Adult debut series about falling in love and falling apart.

During welcome week at Hillson University, the FROSH will hit the fan. 

Type-A aspiring journalist Ellie plans to take freshman year by storm. But hell-bent on breaking a huge on-campus scandal, she risks becoming one herself--and getting the mysterious, heart-melting QB in serious trouble.

Grant, star quarterback and charismatic chick-magnet, is hiding a life-altering secret. The last thing he needs is an overeager (absolutely adorable) journalist asking questions. He's got a reputation to protect.

High-society legacy student Devon is ready to catch the football hottie of her dreams. If the tabloids feature her with the "it" boy on her arm, her tainted past will be buried--or so she thinks.

Charlie, pre-med, is done being the sweet and funny geek that girls like Devon ignore. But if he tries to impress her with a new edgy, spontaneous attitude, will his heart end up in the emergency room?

FIRST BLUSH intertwines the stories of Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie in a romantic novel about first times and broken hearts.
This story revolves around four main characters that are all connected.  There was the complexity to this that I really enjoyed!  Grant is the star football player that has caught Devon's eye.  Ellie is trying to get on at the school newspaper and has to interview Grant.  Grant realizes how different Ellie is from everyone and only has eyes for her.  However, Devon keeps putting herself in his path in order for him to notice her.  Charlie is a very smart guy and he is interested in Devon (but she is so not his type).  Unfavorable circumstances keep happening that paint Grant in a not-so-pleasant light when he is around Ellie.  The circle keeps going round and round!  Ellie realizes Grant is hiding something that has the potential to be a huge story.  She struggles with if she should write the story since (in the beginning) her and Grant have become friends.  Then something happens that makes Ellie change her mind.  When this happens, Ellie finds out maybe Grant is trustworthy after all and that maybe someone else that is trying to be her "friend" isn't very trustworthy themselves.  Devon has to learn to go after what she really wants instead of what she thinks she wants.  This story was a lot of fun to read and the college atmosphere was very entertaining.  I loved that every character had their own real life struggles (Devon has a family scandal, Ellie has self-worth issues, Grant has family complications and Charlie is struggling with being himself a bit).  I will warn you that this book ends on a serious cliffhanger...I can't wait to see where this series goes next!
Buy the book:
       Barnes and Noble

About the author:

Mónica was born in a Peruvian city by a snow-capped volcano. Growing up, books were her constant companion as she traveled with her family to places like India (where she became a vegetarian), Thailand (where she *almost* met Leonardo di Caprio), France (where she pretended to learn French), and countless other places that inspired her to write. Now, Mónica lives in Chile with her husband, three boys, eleven hens, and stray dog.

Connect with the author:

No comments:

Post a Comment